PND – Men suffer too

Recently I took part in an hour long chat on Twitter about men suffering from Post natal depression (PND)

Post natal depression affects 1 in 10 new fathers and more research and education is needed to find out how many develop other mental health issues/problems after their children are born.

Having my wife and then in turn myself go through this process with our daughter I could relate a lot in this discussion. The biggest contributing factor in most cases and stories I’ve heard is that there is not enough people to talk to and next to no education of this matter.

While fathers are still less likely than mothers to experience postnatal depression, there is a growing realisation that it is an important issue for men too. The transition to fatherhood and the early years of raising children are a time when men are at substantially increased risk of psychological distress.

It’s a very positive thing that fathers are much more engaged with child-rearing.
Some men struggle to come to terms with the reality of pregnancy and the need to support their partner through the childbirth process, leading to stress among expectant fathers.
There are parenting implications for fathers who have mental health issues. They are more likely to show low levels of engagement and warmth towards their children.

I myself felt very alone and confined when my wife was suffering PND as I didn’t know what to do for her let alone myself and with still going through a grieving process of having a disabled son too, there was no one to ask or to really talk to it was like a kind of taboo. As much as I hate to admit it I stood up brushed myself off and tried my best to push my feelings aside and got on with taking care of my family as best I knew how.

But here inly the problem, I was going through my own emotional roller coaster constantly where could I seek help, or find some kind of outlet…No I knew of not one resolution.

It is only now I know that in hindsight the best way to tackle these issues is through education where possible and conversation, talk to whoever you can it does help.

Fortunately I came out the other side eventually but I think deep down it has had a serious impact on my relationship with my daughter, now I just hope & pray that in time we will gain back our father daughter bond.

IMG_0430

3 thoughts on “PND – Men suffer too

  1. Brilliant post, you so will, she loves her Daddo. I am so thankful you looked after us both so well, I wish I had realised how bad it had been for you to xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Here if you ever need an ear buddy. Great post. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Brilliant post. So, so important to highlight that it isn’t just women who get hit by PND – and that help is out there for both genders with regard to this. I hope your days continue to improve, as with your bond.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

